The White House announces that Atlantic nations have formed a partnership to collaborate on security, fishing, and climate issues.

The White House announced on Tuesday that over 30 countries located along the Atlantic Ocean are coming together to establish a collaboration focusing on various matters including technology, a sustainable ocean economy, and climate change.

The Partnership for Atlantic Cooperation was established during the U.N. General Assembly meeting in New York City and includes countries from four different continents.

The collaboration aims to encourage working together on matters such as commercial fishing, while recognizing the potential difficulties posed by increasing temperatures and sea levels.

“I cannot reword”

He stated that the initial priority will involve advocating for scientific information regarding the ocean and strategies to address plastic pollution, all while preparing the upcoming cohort of Atlantic researchers.

Mr. Blinken stated that the Atlantic has become a vital connection for us, unlike ever before. It experiences a higher volume of commercial and shipping activity compared to any other ocean. Additionally, more data is transmitted through its underwater cables than any other ocean. The Atlantic is also home to over half of the world’s fisheries. In conclusion, it is an ocean full of possibilities and serves as a means of connection for us in various ways.

SEE ALSO: Biden to focus on development, climate, Ukraine at the U.N. General Assembly; Putin, Xi are no-shows

“I believe it is also reasonable to state that we are connected through shared difficulties,” he stated. “The fluctuations in temperature of the Atlantic Ocean play a significant role in influencing global climate and weather patterns. Consequently, as the ocean warms and sea levels increase, it disrupts marine ecosystems and endangers the communities reliant on them. This poses a threat to livelihoods and worsens the issue of food insecurity.”

The White House stated that the partnership was established based on the Joint Statement on Atlantic Cooperation from last year, which set the foundation for a formal collaboration.

In addition to addressing technological and climate concerns, the alliance will reassert the sovereignty of each country and ensure their adherence to international laws, aiming to protect member states from any form of meddling, pressure, or hostile behavior.

The partnership includes Angola, Argentina, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Canada, Costa Rica, Dominica, the Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, the Gambia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Iceland, Ireland, the Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mauritania, Morocco, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Portugal, the Republic of the Congo, Senegal, Spain, Togo, the U.K., the U.S. and Uruguay.